Tuesday, 20 May 2014

SharePoint 2013 : “Sign in as different user” has gone

Hello SharePoint lovers,

This is another one for my own reference really as I know I will use this until I have learn it parrot fashion.
We used to like the old “Log in as different user” option from within the browser. It was very handy for quickly testing different accounts. This has now gone from the UI in 2013 but it hasn’t actually gone…only the link has gone.

It is still there at http://site/_layouts/closeconnection.aspx?loginasanotheruser=true

Another approach out there is to Right click Internet explorer with shift held down and select “Run as different user”.

It should be noted that this cannot guarantee that everything with the previous user will disappear. I would at the very least hammer shift f5 to clear the browser cache down.
From my own experience if you are doing stuff with Office then you really need to login to windows as that user to get all the functionality working correctly. However there is still a place for the old “sign in as a different user” for us oldschool geeks.

Hope to start posting more in general. Been so busy SharePointing recently.